IAG Young Authors' Awards

The rules for the IAG Young Authors award and for the IAG Travel award for yound scientists are given below.

Rules for the IAG Best Publication Award


To draw attention to important contributions by young scientists in the Journal of Geodesy and to foster excellence in scientific writing.


The applicant must be 35 years of age or younger when submitting the paper for publication. The paper must present the applicant's own research, and must have been published in the two annual volumes of the Journal of Geodesy (J of G) preceding either the IAG General Assembly or the IAG Scientific Assembly. Although multiple author papers will be considered, single author papers will be given more weight in the selection process.


The award consists of a certificate and a cheque of US $ 1000. Presentation of the awards will be made at each IAG General Assembly and each IAG Scientific Assembly. Up to two awards will be presented on each occasion for the two-year period corresponding to the annual volumes specified above.

Nomination and criteria

For each two-year period the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Geodesy will propose a minimum of three candidates for the award. In addition, proposals made by at least three IAG Fellows or Associates will be considered for the competition. The voting members of the IAG Executive Committee will make the final selection. It will be based on the importance of the scientific contribution, which may be either theoretical or practical, and on the quality of the presentation. The name and picture of the award winner and a short biography will be published in the Journal of Geodesy.


Each year the conditions for the award will be announced in the Journal of Geodesy. Nominations should be sent to the General Secretary of the IAG, giving name, address, and age of the author (at date of submission), the title of the paper on which nomination is based, and a brief justification. Nominations must be received by March 1 of the year in which either an IAG General Assembly or an IAG Scientific Assembly takes place.

Rules for the IAG Travel Award


To assist young scientists from member countries to present results of their research at IAG meetings (general meetings, workshops, etc...)


The applicant must present results of his or her research at the meeting and must be 35 years of age or less at the date of the application. The application must be supported by at least one IAG Fellow or two Associates.

Type of awards

There are two awards, one for meetings in the applicant's own country, the other for meetings outside the applicant's country. The first group is called IAG National Travel Award and has a maximum financial value of US $ 400. It is available for meetings in developping countries. The second award is called the IAG International Travel Award and has a maximum financial value of US $ 800. The amounts can occasionally be adjusted by the IAG Executive Committee. Normally, the total number of awards are limited to 10 in any given year.

Application procedure

Applicants are asked to send their application at least three months before the meeting to:

IAG Central Bureau, General Secretary,
University of Copenhaguen, Department of Geophysics,
Juliane Maries Vej 30,
DK-2100 Copenhaguen 0, Denmark.

As a minimum, the application should contain: title, authors, and abstract of the paper to be presented, acceptance by the organizing committee (if available), travel budget and sources of additionnal funding. The letter(s) of support (one IAG Fellow or two Associates) should be sent separately and should be in a sealed envelope.

Selection procedure and criteria

Selection of applicants will be done by the IAG Bureau. It will be based on the letter(s) of support and the applicant's ability to actually attend the meeting. Priority will be given to candidates from developping countries.

Additional benefits

The IAG will encourage organizers of meetings to waive registration fees for all IAG Travel award winners.

The winners of the last years

Alvaro Santamaría Gómez (2014)

The awardee, Alvaro Santamaría-Gómez, took his first steps in geodesy during his undergraduate degree in land surveying at the University of Salamanca in 2002 and then during his graduate degree in geodesy at the Technical University of Madrid in 2005.

Krzysztof Jakub Sośnica (2013)

The IAG Young Authors Award 2013 is presented to Krzysztof Jakub Sośnica for his paper “Impact of loading displacements on SLR-derived parameters and on the consistency between GNSS and SLR results” written together with the co-authors and advisors Daniela Thaller, Rolf Dach, Adrian Jäggi, and Gerhard Beutler.

Elizabeth Petrie (2011)

The IAG Young Authors Award is granted at each IAG General or Scientific Assembly for important contributions of young authors in the Journal of Geodesy. In 2011 is was presented to Elizabeth Petrie, Newcastle University, UK, for her paper \"A first look at the effects of ionospheric signal bending on a globally processed GPS network\" published in Journal of Geodesy, Vol. 84, 491-499, 2010.

2000 IAG Young Author Award

The IAG Young Author Award for 2000 was split between two winners. The Award consists of a certificate and a check of US$ 500, which was handed out during the opening ceremony of the IAG Scientific Assembly in Budapest. The IAG best paper award for young scientist for 2000 was given to Christopher Kotsakis and Rüdiger Lehmann.

IAG Events