Rules for the Guy Bomford Prize

The following rules are applied for the Guy Bomford Prize


The Guy Bomford Prize is awarded by the International Association of Geodesy for outstanding contribution to Geodesy. It was established by the British National Committee for Geodesy and Geophysics to mark the contributions to geodesy of Brigadier G. Bomford, formerly of the University of Oxford and a Past President of the International Association of Geodesy. It has been inaugurated by the IAG in 1975. The Prize is normally awarded at intervals of four years on the occasion of the General Assembly of the IAG held concurrently with the General Assembly of the International Union for Geodesy and Geophysics. The following rules for the award of the Guy Bomford Prize may be altered by the IAG Executive Committee if a majority of its voting members sees a necessity to do so.


The Guy Bomford Prize is awarded to a young scientist or to a team of young scientists for outstanding theoretical or applied contributions to geodetic studies particularly in the four year period preceding the General Assembly at which the award is made. Scientists who are under 40 years of age on December, 31, of the year preceding the Assembly at which the award is made, are eligible for the award.


Nominations will be invited by the IAG Bureau from all National Committees of IUGG member countries at least one year ahead of the General Assembly. Each committee can make one nomination which has not necessarily to be from its own country. The deadline for nominations will normally be six months before the next General Assembly and will be explicitly started in the letter of invitation.

Nominations must be accompanied by:

  • The full name, address, age, academic and/or professional qualifications and position of the candidates and the name of the National Committee making the nomination.
  • An outline of the reasons for the nomination including a general summary of the career and scientific achievement of the candidate.
  • A review of recent achievements of the candidates which would merit the award, including references to key papers, published, alone or jointly, during the preceding four-year period.
  • A curriculum vitae, publication list, and copies of up to two key papers which are considered to justify candidature.
  • The name and address of two referees who can be consulted.

Selection procedure

A selection committee will be appointed consisting of the presidents of the IAG commissions and two other members to be appointed by the IAG Bureau. Based on the material submitted by the National committees each member of the selection committee will rank the nominations and select the candidate to be awarded the Guy Bomford prize. The decision (not the detailed ranking) will be communicated to all National Committees and to the selected candidate. The prize may be withheld if, in the opinion of the selection committee, there is no sufficiently qualified candidate available.

Presentation of award

The Prize shall be presented to the successful candidate at the opening Plenary Session of the IAG Assembly. He or she shall be invited to deliver a lecture during the course of the IAG Assembly

IAG Events